Reflecting on Psalm 23

“The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.”

The LORD my leader and my guide.  He hems me in to his pasture of protection and supplies my every need.  He is the good shepherd who sent his Son to lay down His life for me.  (John 10:11-12)

“He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,”

The LORD knows my needs better than I do.  He brings me to a place of peace where He tells me, ‘Be still and know that I am God.’ (Psalm 46:10)

“he restores my soul.”

The LORD picks me up when I am down, dusts me off and tells me that it will be OK with His live-giving Spirit.

“He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”

The LORD has given me His Word to serve as my guide for living. (Psalm 25:9)

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me;”

The LORD has not given me a spirit of fear and I known that nothing can separate me from His love.  (1 Timothy 1:7, Romans 8:38-39)

“your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

The LORD is the authority in my life.  He disciplines me when when I go astray, but lovingly wraps His arms around me when I return.  (Hebrews 12:5-6)

“You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.”

The LORD provides me with a bounty of provision and sustenance in a time of great distress.

“You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

The LORD has chosen me to serve Him and be His ambassador to everyone around me.  (Colossians 3:12, 2 Corinthians 5:20)  I am blessed beyond measure in Your faithful service.  (Ephesians 1:3)

“Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life,”

The LORD gives me never-ending, unfailing love as I live out my days with the blessed hope of life with Him for eternity.  (Psalm 13:5, Psalm 136)

“and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.”

The LORD is preparing a house for me where one day I will go to live for eternity.  (John 14:1-3)

About Mac DeBoer

Mac DeBoer is a graduate of Grand Valley State University with a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering. He and his family are members of South Blendon Reformed Church in Hudsonville, MI. Mac is an active member and has served as a Consistory member, Youth Leader, Sunday School teacher and website administrator. He is a happily married father of three boys and enjoys bowhunting and other outdoor activities in Northern Michigan.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

