PURPOSE by OJS

PURPOSE [pur-puhs] – the reason for which something exists or is created, done, or used; an intended or desired result, end, aim, or goal; determination, resoluteness.

Purpose! Everyone wants to find it. Everyone wants to fulfill it. And, if you’re anything like me, you’re miserable to settle for a mundane life that lacks it.

Jesus had it. Paul had it. Moses had it. David had it. Do YOU have it?

I assure you, friend, you HAVE it! Whether you’ve discovered it or not, God has tremendous purpose for your life. To find it is to find fulfillment and joy!

So don’t be frustrated, don’t give up, and for heaven’s sake, don’t look to anyone else but your Creator to find your purpose! He made you, He knows you, and He knows how to communicate it to you.

Here are a few bumpers on this road of life to help you find your purpose and keep you going straight towards your destiny.

1.) Follow what makes your heart come ALIVE.

I had my first encounter with divine purpose when I was 18. Newly saved, I was on my first mission trip. The Gospel message was being preached on that street corner in Lima, Peru, and I watched as cars full of people pulled over to hear and receive eternal life. Tears filled my eyes. I felt like I could cry and laugh, fall on my knees and jump over a wall all at the same time. My heart was coming ALIVE within me. Before I had time to think about it, PURPOSE bubbled out of my heart as I blurted, “I’m gonna do this for the rest of my life.”

 A few years later I found myself in a squatter camp of South Africa, raw sewage beneath my feet and my skin stinging from sunburn. I yelled the sinner’s prayer loud enough for the crowd to hear, and I listened as I heard those beautiful words echo mine in another language. PURPOSE arose, and my heart leapt.

Still later I got off a train in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia not knowing why I was there, other than the PURPOSE that drove me across the ocean. A few days later I watched a young girl read John 3:16 in her own language for the first time. I watched light come to her as she asked, “There is a God who loves me? He sent His Son so I could live?” 

PURPOSE… you can find yours by what makes your heart come alive! That thing may or may not look like the most “successful” option for your life. But if you haven’t felt your heart leap in excitement lately, take a detour and explore some other options in life. God created us to be responsive creatures – responding to His purpose when we see it fulfilled. You can trust your heart. Follow your heart. It is your safe guide in life.

<<<<Proverbs 19:21 (AMP) – Many plans are in a man’s mind, but it is the Lord’s purpose for him that will stand.>>>>

 2.)  Follow the path to PEOPLE.

I encourage you to read about our Lord Jesus. Although fully God, He was also fully Man, and susceptible to all the temptations of doubts, discouragement, and apathy we are used to. One thing I admire about my Jesus is that He was a Man on a mission. He knew what He was called to do. He knew His purpose, and He kept it before His eyes always. His purpose WAS people – to save them, to rescue them, to deliver them. What makes us think as that as His disciples our purpose will be any different? 

Contrary to popular belief, Jesus didn’t come so that we could live comfortable lives while those outside the Family of God are perishing and struggling. NO! Jesus came to give us LIFE. And let me tell you, friend, if you’re not involved in helping the dirty, the dying, and the hopeless, then YOU’RE NOT LIVING! Joy like none other is found in serving. 

So, if your goals in life don’t profit others, you can be sure you’ve yet to find your divine purpose on this earth. The God-kind of purpose will always lead to helping others.  Like a train that runs on tracks, our destiny runs on purpose – and its final destination is people. 

 <<<<Mark 10:45 – Even the Son of Man came not to be served, but to serve and give His life…>>>>

 3.) Take a STEP of faith.

 Once you think you’ve found it – PURPOSE – that thing that makes your heart come alive and helps others – DO SOMETHING about it! Good intention that lies dormant in your heart does you as much good as a million dollars in a safe that you don’t have the combination to. So, step out! Make a move! Trust God that His divine purpose will keep you. I promise you, it will. I travel the world and do things I’m not supposed to be able to do – not because I have any natural assurance of safety or provision or security – but because with each step I take, God’s Word meets my feet and holds me up, steady and strong. I’m running with my destiny. I’m running with purpose. YOU can do the same!

<<<<Ephesians 3:20 (AMP) – Now to Him Who, by… the power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams.]>>>>

Take the leap! Get out of the boat! Walk on the water! Determine that you’d rather be a wet water-walker than a dry boat-talker. Feed your faith! Starve your doubts! Punch apathy right in the face and defy the status quo by fulfilling your God-given PURPOSE. You CAN with His strength and ability. Jesus has faith in you, my friend! Go, and do it!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
OJS is a missionary that works with Project 1615, a missions organization that is taking the Gospel to the Muslim people groups of the “STANS” of Central Asia. Through church planting, leadership training, and publishing, the lost are coming to Jesus and the underground church is being strengthened.

EDITORS NOTE: Photo and name not posted to protect the missionaries working overseas in Muslim nations.

About Guest Author

WonderSword enjoys having Guest Authors and thanks them for donating their time to write devotionals. If your interested in being a Guest Author, send us an email at the address provided under Contact Us.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

